Faculty Minority Affairs Committee (FMAC) meeting minutes

When: 9-10:30am, Friday, February 25, 2022

Where: Microsoft Teams

Next meeting: April 1, 2022

Attendance: Stephen Suh, Esther Lamidi, David Kocsis, Gia Barboza, Debora Pina-Thomas, Heather Albanesi, Edgar Cota-Torres, Carlos Duarte, Lei Zhang, Julie Torres, Ila'heva Tua'one, Nicholas Martinez

Minutes

- 1. Welcome and check-ins (9:00-9:05)
- 2. Announcements (9:05-9:15)
 - a. Campus Climate Survey results are now available. We will review and discuss the results during our April 1 meeting.
 - b. VC DEI Rame Hanna starts their employment on March 1. They are scheduled to join our next FMAC meeting, April 1, from 9:15-10:30. We will use that time for introductions, as well as to discuss climate/DEI related issues that we would like for the DEI office to have on their radar.
 - c. Dave Kocsis: Business school administering climate survey. Will reach out to FMAC for feedback
 - d. Nick Martinez: Update on FMAC budget
- 3. Name change update [9:15-9:25]
 - a. Minoritized Faculty Action Committee for Equity (MFACE) failed the committee vote: 2 in favor, 6 against, 1 abstain
 - b. Committee for Racial and Ethnic Equity (CREE) was runner up, but System CREE encouraged differentiation between System and Campus DEI committees.
 - c. There is broad support for Faculty Equity and Inclusion Committee (FEIC). Stephen will administer a vote via email.
 - d. For comparison:
 - i. CU Denver: Ethnic Diversity Committee (EDC)
 - ii. CU Boulder: Diversity Committee (DIVC)
- 4. Co-chair vote [9:25-9:30]
- 5. Turning Point UCCS discussion [9:30-9:45]
 - a. UCCS chapter of Turning Point USA recently involved in incidents of harassment and discrimination on campus and on social media. As of yet, no disciplinary action has been taken by the University or Student Life.
 - b. WEST has drafted a letter demanding a response to Turning Point's actions.
 - c. FMAC votes to be a signatory of the letter
- 6. Spring 2022 Diversity Grant deliberation (9:45-10:30)
 - a. Award recipients
 - i. Edgar Cota-Torres
 - ii. Whitley Hadley
 - iii. Kristi Maida
 - iv. Jennifer Kling
 - v. Nicholas Tapia-Fuselier

7. Meeting adjourned (10:30)