Outstanding Instructor Award

Instructor Award

Outstanding Instructor Award

Recognizing Excellence in Teaching by Full-Time or Part-Time IRC Faculty Members


Candidates will be judged to be outstanding in classroom presentations as well as having a thorough knowledge of their subject matter. Specific requirements are that the candidates:

  1. Be full- or part-time IRC faculty at UCC
  2. Have taught at least five semesters at UCCS
  3. Have not received this award previously


  1. Anyone may nominate the candidate; self-nominations are accepted
  2. Supporting materials must include:
    1. A letter of nomination that briefly describes the nominee's teaching excellence
    2. A narrative (double-spaced, 1000-word maximum) describing the nominee's teaching philosophy, written by the nominee
    3. A maximum of five letters of recommendation (These can be solicited from students, faculty, or administrators, and should demonstrate a knowledge of the nominee's qualifications for the award.)
    4. The nominee's curriculum vitae
    5. Faculty Course Questionnaires for all courses taught during the last three academic years
    6. Additional supporting documentation is welcome, but should be relevant and be kept brief
  3. Materials should be assembled as a single PDF file and delivered to David Anderson, Chair, Campus Awards Committee. (See also Tips for Preparing Award Nominations)

Nomination Deadline

Friday, February 24, 2022


The winner of the Outstanding Instructor Award will receive a custom-made freestanding sculptured award and $4,000 (less taxes). The award will be presented at the Campus Awards Ceremony.


Funding for the Outstanding Instructor Award is provided by the Provost.

Questions? Contact: David Anderson